David Attenborough’s Natural Curiosities – Series 1 & 2

David Attenborough's Natural Curiosities - Series 1 & 2 [DVD]

Release Date: March 24, 2014
Studio: 2entertain
Actors: Sir David Attenborough
Directors: Hilary Jeffkins, Sharmila Choudhury
Runtime: 329 minutes

In series one, Sir David Attenborough uncovered the stories behind some of nature's most baffling and intriguing creatures. Now in this bigger second series he uncovers more curious tales from the natural world. From the ambitious and ultimately fatal journey to bring Emperor penguin eggs back from the South Pole to the role the electric eel played in our understanding of electricity, series two features creatures that have attracted the attention of great scientists and explorers. The 10-part series follows Sir David as he travels across the UK to explore animal oddities that other TV programmes simply do not cover. Each episode features two different animals with curiously distinctive evolutionary quirks, linked together by a common theme. Sir David looks at the emperor penguin and the wood frog, both of which survive in conditions so cold they seem to defy the laws of nature; the rhino and the hedgehog, two animals that hide behind seemingly impenetrable armoured coats; and gorillas and vampire bats, who both have unfairly gained frightening reputations within the animal kingdom. Disc 1 - Series 1: Stretched to the limit, A Curious Hoax, Young Wrinklies, A Curious Twist, Seeing the Pattern Disc 2 - Series 2: Virgin Birth, Armoured Animals, Life in the Dark, Curious Imposters, Bad Reputations Disc 3 - Series 2: Shocking Senses, Life on Ice, Spinners and Weavers, Strange Parents, Magical Appearances